Take A Look Around

Today the MSU Spain group experienced complete polar opposites. The men and women of Digimedia on one side and Cafe Comercial on the other.

The unique group of co-workers at Digimedia are solely dedicated to presenting top news to their users in the form of exciting multi-media graphics that have never been done before. They had some of the best information graphics that I have ever seen on their website…and the gifts they gave us didn’t hurt their presentation either. With an enormous amount of pride and enthusiasm in their work, it was hard to not be inspired and want to jet home to design a few things  yourself. Of course nothing as cool as theirs. Pictures of our visit can be seen here.

“I’m so inspired right now. I just want to go home and kill myself.” – Karl Gude

Some of the girls with their gifts

The staff members at Digimedia are constantly looking for something better. A better way to portray the news, or a better program to do it with. However, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit uneasy when I left. I will be a junior this fall, and so thankfully I have a little bit more time to get my act together before heading out into the “real world”. But I couldn’t help feeling like the world was moving too fast for the pace I was going. And if I wasn’t on top of my game every second of the day, looking for that bigger and better thing, all the items that I have been juggling (school, work, family, friends, my future) would all fall to the ground and shatter. These feelings that I had been experiencing however, quickly subsided when we arrived at Café Comercial.

On the complete opposite of Digimedia, is the exquisite Café Comercial, where we all headed afterward, to practice sketching and get a bite to eat. This quaint restaurant kiddie corner to our hostel hasn’t changed one bit since the day they opened their doors and sold their first bocadillo in the early 1900’s.

Sketching class at Cafe Comercial

It was as if the redwood chairs and marble tables that filled the room were yelling, “Hey! Lauryn! Chill the heck out! We promise that if you sit back and relax for one second, things will still be okay and you might just enjoy yourself.” Well they couldn’t have been more right. While eating my delicious bocadillo and sipping on some café con leche, I started to take in the beauty of the café and the history that came along with it. Instead of appreciating the new and exciting things in life, something that hadn’t changed in more than 100 years was suddenly just as captivating.

I love information graphics, and after learning more about the industry I think it’s definitely going to be a top career choice for myself. But I think everyone, especially me, needs the occasional smack upside the head to get us to put down the cell phone, tear your eyes from the computer screen, and take a look around.

— Lauryn “sips coffee slower now” Schroeder

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Take A Look Around

  1. Lorie

    I totally agree with your final comment. If we don’t look around the world will pass us right by.

  2. MARCY

    so cute, sounds like this is just what you needed.

Leave a Reply

